Would really like some help from dedicated Oasis fans

Discuss the band

Postby Laura33333 » 05 Apr 2011, 15:48

Hello, I am a final year University student and my final project is going to be on the mainstream popularity of Britpop.

I am hoping some people here would be able to help give me a fans view of one the most important bands within Britpop, Oasis. It would be great to have some feedback on why you liked and supported the band. I have four questions below, which you can answer as detailed or briefly as you like. I would be really grateful for any feedback and any infomation will be confidential. If you want to message me for any details, please feel free. As I said any help would be great, as I'm sick of reading books by journalists and would love to hear actual fans thought on the bands.

Here are the Questions
1. What was it about Oasis that first made you a fan?

2. Were there any style features (i.e. clothing, haircuts ect) that you associated with Oasis, and if so, did you engage with these styles?

3. Did you sense a overtly British philosophy within the bands music and attitude?

4. Did press coverage influence your thoughts on the band?

Thanks again
Laura33333
Bonehead

Postby Artemisia » 05 Apr 2011, 19:25

1. The music.
2. No.
3. No ... well, there certainly was - but I didn't care.
4. No.
Artemisia
Bigger Than The Beatles

1. The music.
2. No.
4. No.
Artemisia
Bigger Than The Beatles

1. The music.
2. No.
4. No.
Artemisia
Bigger Than The Beatles

Postby Greg House » 05 Apr 2011, 21:36

1. I first saw them on The Word. They were playing Supersonic, I think, and about half way through I caught sight of a black guy in the audience who clearly wasn't enjoying himself as much as the rest of the white folk in the crowd. I thought to myself "Hey, I'm pretty white. And I'm from Manchester. These guys are like me." I immediately went out and bought their debut album.